Cranberry

Tiny berries for healthy enjoyment.

Cranberry<br />

These berries from North America owe their name to the similarity between their flowers and a crane’s head.

Cranberries grow on low, evergreen groundcover plants. Because they contain four air chambers inside, cranberries are harvested in a special way: The fields in which they grow are flooded. This causes the berries to break off the shrub and float up to the surface, from where they are gathered by suction.

Fresh cranberries taste sour and rather tart. They only gain sweetness and their characteristic cranberry flavor in a dried state, with the addition of sugar. Consumers value the berries for their versatile qualities: besides their flavor and bright red color, their health-promoting effects make the fruit a sought-after product.

The berries’ firm consistency and fruity flavor convey a full-bodied, fruity taste to granola and granola bars, confectionery, toppings, dressings, and sauces, and are also a component of cheese and pastry products. Whether dried, as a concentrate, frozen, or as an innovatively flavored fruit ingredient – in each case cranberries ensure accentuations of color and flavor.

Bösch Boden Spies is a trusted partner of the world market leader Ocean Spray, whose product range comprises more than 40 different cranberry products tailored to the food industry. The company was founded in 1930 by three independent cranberry farmers and is now a cooperative that unites more than 700 producers of the small red fruit in North America and Chile.

Origin

  • USA
  • Chile

Qualities

Dried
Concentrate
Puree
seeds
Frozen

Partner

  • Ocean Spray

    Ocean Spray’s success story began in 1930 when three cranberry growers in Lakeville, Massachusetts teamed up with a common goal: to open up new...

    Read more

Contact

Cranberry

Eine kleine Beere für den gesunden Genuss.

Cranberry

Die Beeren aus Nordamerika verdanken ihren Namen der Ähnlichkeit ihrer Blüten mit dem Kopf eines Kranichs.

Cranberrys wachsen an kleinen, immergrünen Sträuchern, die sich am Boden kriechend ausbreiten. Weil sie im Inneren über vier Luftkammern verfügen, werden Cranberrys auf besondere Art geerntet: Die Felder, auf denen sie wachsen, werden geflutet. Dadurch lösen sich die Beeren vom Strauch und schwimmen nach oben an die Wasseroberfläche, von wo sie abgesaugt werden.

Frisch schmecken die Beeren säuerlich und eher herb. Getrocknete Cranberries erhalten durch die Zugabe von Zucker die Süße und ihren charakteristischen Cranberrygeschmack. Die Verbraucher schätzen die Beere für ihre vielseitigen Eigenschaften: Neben dem Geschmack und der leuchtend roten Farbe machen ihre gesundheitsfördernden Wirkungen die Frucht zu einem gefragten Produkt.

Die feste Konsistenz und die fruchtige Note der Beeren vermitteln in Müsli und Müsliriegeln ein vollmundig-fruchtiges Geschmackserlebnis – ebenso in Süßwaren, Toppings, Dressings und Saucen oder als Bestandteil von Käseprodukten und Backwaren. Getrocknete Cranberries sorgen als innovative aromatisierte Fruchzutat ebenso für farbliche und geschmackliche Akzente wie  Cranberry-Konzentrat, -Pulver oder die tiefgefrorene Frucht.

Bösch Boden Spies ist enger Partner des Weltmarktführers Ocean Spray, dessen Produktpalette mehr als 40 verschiedene, auf die Lebensmittelindustrie zugeschnittene  Cranberryprodukte umfasst. Das Unternehmen wurde 1930 von drei unabhängigen Cranberry-Farmern gegründet. Heute ist Ocean Spray eine Genossenschaft, die mehr als 700 Cranberry-Erzeuger der kleinen roten Frucht in Nordamerika und Chile vereint. Getrocknete Cranberries gehören ebenso zum Sortiment wie viele weitere Qualitäten – von gefroren bis Konzentrat.

Herkunft

  • USA
  • Chile

Qualitäten

Getrocknet
Konzentrat
Püree
Tiefgefroren

Partner

Ansprechpartner