Snack news from Ocean Spray: Crunchy Cranberries™ - Bösch Boden Spies

1304

Food-Innovations

Snack news from Ocean Spray: Crunchy Cranberries™

Crunchy fruit snacks are all the rage – and our partner Ocean Spray recently added Crunchy Cranberries™ to its portfolio. This innovative version is a healthy alternative to potato chips and is an excellent choice as a crunchy ingredient in mueslis, chocolate, salads, yoghurt and many other foods.

Ocean Spray is always good for a sensational novelty. For 25 years, the cranberry specialists from the U.S. East Coast have been among Bösch Boden Spies’s selected suppliers. The latest coup from the Americans: Crunchy Cranberries™.

Thanks to a new drying process developed by Ocean Spray, the berries remain permanently crunchy –which is precisely the texture and taste experience that many consumers are looking for nowadays.

Crunchy benefits for consumers and manufacturers

Surveys by the market researchers at Innova Market Insights show that ‘crunchy’ has been the most popular texture in snacks, cereals, dairy, confectionery and bakery products worldwide for the past 5 years. The number of product launches featuring crunchy ingredients increased by a crackling 72% between 2012 and 2017. The latest product innovation from Ocean Spray satisfies this appetite of consumers. And manufacturers benefit from the strengths of the ingredient in several ways:

Crunchy Cranberries™

  • remain crunchy even in milk, yoghurt & co.
  • offer cost advantages: more berries per kg.
  • contain less sugar and calories per serving than conventionally dried cranberries.
  • are perfect for chocolate coatings.
  • facilitate the handling process because they hardly stick together.
  • easily last 12 to 15 months.

Crunchy Cranberries™ turn eating fruit into a snack experience

The special process preserves the freshness typical of cranberries along with their sweet-and-tart aroma. Mueslis, dairy products and salads, as well as trail mixes are given a wonderful infusion of freshness and an exciting blend of texture mix. Their special crunch effect can even be a healthy alternative to potato chips and other snacks, because Crunchy Cranberries™ also taste pure.

The berries are dried using a novel process and are highly versatile. They  are scheduled to be available from Bösch Boden Spies starting in the second half of 2018. Our development experts will be happy to create individual application solutions together with interested food producers. For further information, please contact Tim Richardsen.

Contact

Die Snack-Neuheit von Ocean Spray: Crunchy Cranberrys™ - Bösch Boden Spies

1304

Food-Innovationen

Die Snack-Neuheit von Ocean Spray: Crunchy Cranberrys™

Knackige Frucht-Snacks liegen voll im Trend. Passend dazu hat unser Partner Ocean Spray seit Kurzem Crunchy Cranberrys™ im Portfolio. Die neuartige Variante ist eine gesunde Alternative zu Kartoffelchips und eignet sich hervorragend als knackige Zutat für Müslis, Schokolade, Salate, Joghurt und vieles mehr.

Ocean Spray ist immer für eine Top-Neuheit gut. Seit 25 Jahren gehören die Cranberry-Spezialisten von der US-Ostküste zu den ausgewählten Lieferanten von Bösch Boden Spies. Der neueste Coup der Amerikaner: Crunchy Cranberrys™. Durch ein von Ocean Spray entwickeltes, neuartiges Trocknungsverfahren bleiben die Beeren dauerhaft knackig. Genau diese Textur, dieses Geschmackserlebnis wollen viele Verbraucher heutzutage.

Knackige Vorteile für Verbraucher und Hersteller

‚Crunchy‘ war in den vergangenen fünf Jahren weltweit die beliebteste Textur bei Produktneuheiten im Bereich Snacks, Müslis, Molkereiprodukte sowie Süß- und Backwaren. Das geht aus Erhebungen des Marktforschungsunternehmens Innova Market Insights hervor. Danach stieg die Zahl der Produkteinführungen mit crunchy Ingredients zwischen 2012 und 2017 um knackige 72%. Die aktuellste Produktinnovation von Ocean Spray stillt diesen Appetit der Konsumenten. Und auch Herstellern kommen die Stärken der Rohstoff-Variante gleich mehrfach zugute:

Crunchy Cranberrys™

  • bleiben auch in Milch, Joghurt & Co. knackig.
  • bieten Kostenvorteile durch mehr Beeren pro kg.
  • Enthalten so pro Portion weniger Zucker und Kalorien als herkömmlich getrocknete Cranberrys.
  • eignen sich perfekt für Schokoladenüberzüge.
  • erleichtern den Verarbeitungsprozess, weil sie kaum kleben.
  • halten problemlos 12 bis 15 Monate.

Crunchy Cranberrys™ machen Obstessen zum Snack-Erlebnis

Das spezielle Verfahren erhält die cranberrytypische Frische und das süß-säuerliche Aroma der Beeren. So bekommen Müslis, Molkereiprodukte und Salate, aber auch Nuss- oder Fruchtmischungen einen wundervollen Frische-Kick und zugleich einen spannenden Textur-Mix. Ihr besonderer Cruncheffekt macht die getrockneten Cranberrys sogar zu einer gesunden Alternative zu Kartoffelchips und anderen Snacks, denn Crunchy Cranberries™ schmecken auch pur.

Die neuartig getrockneten Beeren sind vielfältig einsetzbar und voraussichtlich ab der 2. Jahreshälfte 2018 bei Bösch Boden Spies erhältlich. Unsere Development-Experten entwickeln gern gemeinsam mit interessierten Lebensmittelproduzenten individuelle Anwendungslösungen. Für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte Tim Richardsen.

Ansprechpartner