‘At Bösch Boden Spies, Sales is a Team Sport’ - Bösch Boden Spies

1304

People at BBS

‘At Bösch Boden Spies, Sales is a Team Sport’

Maximilian Voss is a “Hamburger” through and through. As Key Account Manager Supply at Bösch Boden Spies, he also feels at home all over the world, because he is in constant contact with ingredient producers around the globe. A conversation about trends, team spirit and terrific people.

Interview Maximilian Voss

“As a company, we’ve made a lot of good decisions in the past few years,” says Maximilian Voss, with equal conviction and satisfaction. The 37-year-old sports fan lives with his wife, son and two daughters in his hometown of Hamburg. He joined the team of the long-established company Bösch Boden Spies as Key Account Manager Supply in June 2008.

A business economist and paper-industry export merchant by training, Maximilian Voss now services our suppliers of cranberry juice concentrate from the U.S. and Chile, Mexican mango puree, banana products from Costa Rica, and passion fruit juice and concentrate from Ecuador and Peru. Most of the time he works from the company headquarters, but he also travels to visit farmers and partners, of course. “It’s very impressive to see how farmers give their all for a top product,” he says.

01

Mr. Voss, you trained in the paper industry, and have been working with fruit ingredients for ten years. What are the similarities and differences in the products?

Both industries work with natural ingredients whose availability depends on nature. For example, the weather determines the size of the harvest. Another common denominator is the influence that trends in consumer behavior have on sales. For example, more e-readers and online offerings mean less newsprint sold. By the same token, there are major differences. At Bösch Boden Spies,
I can go to the supermarket and see the products I’ve just sold the ingredients for. At my previous company, this sense of achievement was not as tangible.

02

What are your tasks as Key Account Manager Supply?

My KAM Supply colleagues and I are the supplier’s voice to the sales team at Bösch Boden Spies. On the one hand, we ensure that the team always knows what’s going on and, on the other, we discuss the strategy and implementation of the annual budget with the suppliers, define new projects, and which products the clients develop with the ingredients. The most important thing is staying in touch with our suppliers. We telephone, write and Skype about prices, harvests, availability, customer needs, quality requirements, and much more. This is a very varied task that constantly
challenges us.

03

Where did you last visit a supplier?

I went to visit our cranberry partner Ocean Spray in the U.S. with a client. Before that I supported a client’s audit at our passion fruit supplier in Ecuador and Peru – that was also very interesting. My visits on site allow me to know more than the sales side. This is very important for understanding the supplier’s processes and challenges. Talking to a farmer while standing in a passion-fruit plantation at the foot of the Andes makes you see things
in a different light.

04

Have you had any particularly memorable business trips?

I’ve experienced a lot in my time as a Key Account Manager, but one thing that left a particular impression was a train journey
I took in my early days – across India to a mango plantation. India is extraordinary. Likewise, the cranberry harvest in the U.S. is always an impressive experience – quite unlike anything of its kind. Or talking to customers and suppliers in the Costa Rican plateau about banana puree while looking down on the capital San José – that leaves an indelible impression.

And then there are the many great people who put all their passion into working with plants and fruit… When I meet farmers or factory workers and tell them that their fruit is turned into juices,
yoghurts and ice cream, this is met with genuine joy.

05

Long-standing partnerships are part of Bösch Boden Spies’ guiding principles. Why is this so important?

Long-term collaboration creates trust; trust breeds joint projects; and joint projects bring the next development steps in a business relationship. We place a priority on continuity and reliability. We work with suppliers who, just like us, invest in long-term collaboration and whose sales philosophy is compatible with our model of exclusive representation.

06

What role do producers play in the development of new products and evolution of existing ones?

There are suppliers who create additional capacity and support us in modifying products and opening up new sales channels. These are our key suppliers who contribute to the success of Bösch Boden Spies. Sometimes, however, evolution can consist of just a small modification to the production process that leads to cost
savings – which we can then pass on to our customers.

07

How important are trends for you as a key account manager?

Trends influence our daily actions. In 2009, for example, smoothies hit the market and the demand for banana puree shot up. The result was a significant price increase, even for the production of proven products. That really stirred up the market back then. Or take the juice industry, which has been struggling with falling consumption for years. Ten years ago, per capita consumption in Germany was 40 liters, now it’s down 33 liters. We counter this trend with high-quality products.

08

Where and how do you switch off from your job?

When I get home and three – usually cheerful – children jump into my arms, thoughts of work are quickly superseded. And I play hockey with the Grossflottbek Tennis Hockey and Golf Club (GTHGC). Hamburg is the hockey capital of Germany. A total of eight men’s and six women’s teams play in the national 1st or 2nd divisions, where everyone can see competitive sports at an affordable price – much better than courting disappointment with overpriced beer at the Volksparkstadion.

09

What do you love about hockey?

First and foremost, the team spirit. Wanting to guide the ball and pass it at just the right moment instead of hogging it and dribbling through on my own – having that skill helps me in my job as well. A hockey game is always a team effort, just like the collaboration between KAM Supply and KAM Sales. To cheer on others or have them cheer you on, and jointly achieve success – that’s what keeps you going.

10

What sights would a local recommend for a visitor to Hamburg?

Don’t miss the Fischbeker Heide, take a walk in Jenischpark, and cross the River Elbe on the Hadag ferry from Teufelsbrück to the city. Of course, this is something locals should see and do at some point, too!

„Vertrieb bei uns ist Teamsport“ - Bösch Boden Spies

1304

Menschen bei BBS

„Vertrieb bei Bösch Boden Spies ist Teamsport“

Maximilian Voss ist Hamburger durch und durch. Als ‚Key Account Manager Supply‘ bei Bösch Boden Spies ist er zugleich in der Welt zu Hause, denn er hält ständigen Kontakt zu Rohstoff-Produzenten rund um den Globus. Ein Gespräch über Trends, Teamgeist und tolle Menschen.

Interview Maximilian Voss

„Wir haben als Firma in den vergangenen Jahren viele richtige Entscheidungen getroffen“, sagt Maximilian Voss. Er klingt überzeugt und zufrieden dabei. Der 37-Jährige lebt mit seiner Frau, einem Sohn und zwei Töchtern in seiner Heimatstadt Hamburg. Im Juni 2008 stieß der Sportfan als ‚Key Account Manager Supply‘ zum Team des Traditionsunternehmens Bösch Boden Spies.

Der studierte Betriebswirtschaftler und gelernte Außenhandelskaufmann in der Papierbranche betreut heute die Lieferanten für Cranberrysaftkonzentrat aus den USA und Chile, mexikanisches Mangopüree, Bananen-Produkte aus Costa Rica und Maracujasaft und -konzentrat aus Ecuador und Peru. Meistens arbeitet er von der Firmenzentrale aus, Reisen zu Farmern und Partnern gehören aber natürlich auch dazu. „Zu sehen, wie die Farmer alles für ein Top-Produkt geben, ist beeindruckend“, sagt er.

01

Herr Voss, Sie haben in der Papierbranche gelernt und arbeiten seit zehn Jahren mit Fruchtrohstoffen, wo liegen Gemeinsamkeiten und wo Unterschiede im Produkt?

Beide Branchen arbeiten mit natürlichen Rohstoffen, die in ihrer Verfügbarkeit von der Natur abhängig sind. Zum Beispiel bestimmt das Wetter die Rohstoffernte. Eine weitere Gemeinsamkeit ist der Einfluss von Trends im Konsumentenverhalten auf den Absatz. Mehr E-Reader und Online-Angebote bedeuten beispielweise weniger verkauftes Zeitungsdruckpapier. Genauso gibt es gravierende Unterschiede. Bei Bösch Boden Spies kann ich im Supermarkt sehen, für welche Produkte ich gerade die Rohware verkauft habe. In meiner vorherigen Firma waren diese Erfolgserlebnisse nicht so greifbar.

02

Welche Aufgaben haben Sie als ‚Key Account Manager Supply‘?

Meine KAM-Supply Kollegen und ich sind das Sprachrohr des Lieferanten zum Vertriebsteam bei Bösch Boden Spies. Wir sorgen einerseits dafür, dass das Team immer Bescheid weiß und besprechen andererseits mit den Lieferanten die Strategie und die Umsetzung des Jahresbudgets, definieren neue Projekte und welche Produkte die Kunden mit den Rohstoffen neu entwickeln. Das Wichtigste ist die Kontaktpflege zu unseren Lieferanten. Wir telefonieren, schreiben und skypen über Preise, Ernten, Verfügbarkeiten, über den Bedarf von Kunden, Qualitätsanforderungen und vieles mehr. Das ist eine sehr abwechslungsreiche Aufgabe, die uns ständig neu fordert.

03

Wo haben Sie das letzte Mal einen Lieferanten besucht?

Ich war mit einem Kunden bei unserem Cranberry-Partner Ocean Spray in den USA. Davor habe ich ein Audit eines Kunden
in Ecuador und Peru bei unserem Maracuja-Lieferanten begleitet – auch sehr interessant. Durch meine Besuche vor Ort lerne ich mehr als die Vertriebsseite kennen. Das ist sehr wichtig, um die Prozesse und Herausforderungen des Lieferanten zu verstehen. Wenn ich auf einem Maracuja-Feld am Fuße der Anden stehe und mit einem Farmer spreche, erscheint alles in einem anderen Licht.

04

Was ist Ihnen von Ihren Geschäftsreisen in besonderer Erinnerung geblieben?

Ich habe als Produktverantwortlicher schon einiges erlebt, aber besonders beeindruckt hat mich eine Zugreise in meiner Anfangszeit – quer durch Indien zu einer Mango-Plantage. Indien ist
außergewöhnlich. Auch die Cranberry-Ernte in den USA ist immer imposant und in ihrer Art mit nichts zu vergleichen. Oder mit Kunden und Lieferanten in der Hochebene von Costa Rica über Bananenpüree zu sprechen und dabei runter auf die Hauptstadt San José zu blicken, das hinterlässt bleibende Eindrücke.

Und dann die vielen tollen Menschen, die ihre ganze Passion in die Arbeit mit Pflanzen und Früchten stecken… Wenn ich Bauern oder Fabrikarbeiter treffe und ihnen erzähle, dass aus ihren Früchten Säfte, Joghurts oder Eiscreme wird, kommt ehrliche Freude zurück.

05

Langjährige Partnerschaften gehören zur gelebten Leitidee von Bösch Boden Spies, warum ist das so wichtig?

Langfristige Zusammenarbeit schafft Vertrauen, Vertrauen schafft gemeinsame Projekte und gemeinsame Projekte bringen die nächsten Entwicklungsschritte in einer Geschäftsbeziehung. Für uns haben Kontinuität und Verlässlichkeit einen hohen Wert. Wir arbeiten mit Lieferanten, die genau wie wir in eine langfristige
Zusammenarbeit investieren und deren Vertriebsphilosophie sich mit unserem Modell der Exklusivvertretung vereinbaren lässt.

06

Welche Rolle spielen die Erzeuger bei Produktneu- und Weiterentwicklungen?

Es gibt Lieferanten, die zusätzliche Kapazitäten schaffen und uns Support geben, um Produkte zu modifizieren und neue Absatzkanäle zu erschließen. Das sind unsere Key Supplier, die den Erfolg von Bösch Boden Spies mitgestalten. Manchmal ist eine Weiterentwicklung aber auch nur eine kleine Modifikation
im Produktionsprozess, die zu Kosteneinsparungen führt. Die können wir dann an unsere Kunden weitergeben.

07

Wie wichtig sind Trends für Sie als Key Account Manager?

Trends beeinflussen unser tägliches Handeln. 2009 zum Beispiel kamen Smoothies auf und die Nachfrage nach Bananenpüree stieg enorm. Die Folge war ein deutlicher Preisanstieg, auch für die Herstellung bereits bewährter Produkte. Das hat den Markt damals ganz schön durcheinandergewirbelt. Oder nehmen wir die Saftbranche, die seit Jahren mit sinkendem Konsum zu kämpfen hat. Vor zehn Jahren lag der Pro-Kopf-Verbrauch in Deutschland noch bei 40 Litern, mittlerweile sind es 33 Liter. Wir setzen diesem Trend hochwertige Produkte entgegen.

08

Wo und wie schalten Sie vom Job ab?

Wenn mir zu Hause drei – meist fröhliche – Kinder in die Arme laufen, komme ich ganz schnell auf andere Gedanken. Und ich spiele Hockey beim Großflottbeker GTHGC. Hamburg ist die Hockey-Hauptstadt Deutschlands. Insgesamt acht Herren- und sechs Damen-Mannschaften spielen in der 1. oder 2. Bundesliga. Da kann jeder für kleines Geld tollen Leistungssport sehen –
viel besser, als im Volksparkstadion die große Enttäuschung bei zu teurem Bier zu erleben.

09

Was lieben Sie am Hockey?

In erster Linie den Teamgeist. Den Ball führen zu wollen und im richtigen Moment abzugeben, anstatt sich alleine durchzudribbeln – das zu können hilft mir auch im Job. Ein Hockeyspiel ist, genau wie das Zusammenspiel zwischen KAM-Supply und KAM-Sales, immer eine Teamleistung. Die anderen mitreißen oder mal mitgerissen werden und gemeinsam Erfolg haben – das treibt einen an.

10

Welche Sehenswürdigkeiten empfiehlt ein gebürtiger Hamburger einem Hamburg-Besucher?

Lassen Sie sich die Fischbeker Heide nicht entgehen, spazieren Sie durch den Jenischpark und fahren Sie mit der Hadag-Fähre von Teufelsbrück über die Elbe in die Stadt. Natürlich sollten das auch alle Hamburger mal gesehen haben.