Sustainable and
healthy products

The fruits and nuts we trade are naturally healthy and nutrient-rich. Numerous scientific studies clearly prove this and recommend their regular consumption as part of a healthy and balanced diet.

Together with our producing partners, we make these health benefits transparent.

In addition to sustainable cultivation and processing, we therefore pay particular attention in our co-product development work to ensuring that these natural raw materials are part of balanced recipes. The focus of our current R&D work is therefore on:

  • Nutrient-rich nutrition
  • The significant reduction of , salt and fat
  • The replacement of artificial flavors and colorants with natural alternatives
  • The simplification of ingredient lists (clean label)

Our suppliers are our partners

As early as the 1950s, Bösch Boden Spies transformed itself from a traditional trader and broker of raw materials from various producers into an import agency that exclusively represents its quality producers from overseas in Europe. Therefore, we have maintained a close partnership with our suppliers, often for many decades, characterized by trust. The majority of these suppliers are cooperatives, i.e. the association of several farmers to form a joint supplier or family businesses that maintain close personal relationships with their farmers. For our customers, this division of responsibilities has the advantage that they usually buy from the world’s leading producers, who at the same time set the quality standards in their areas, but do not have to personally take care of every detail of handling and control, because Bösch Boden Spies does this bundled for all 1000+ customers.

Organic and Fair Trade

Bösch Boden Spies has been certified organic for over 15 years and has been trading in raw materials from organic cultivation ever since. With currently 28 items, organic is already a relevant part of our overall business today. The expansion of our organic business is therefore an integral part of our growth strategy 2025+.

In addition, we are also Fair Trade certified since 2020.

Regional products

In addition to high quality standards in cultivation and processing, we are increasingly taking into account the climate and energy balance of the individual raw materials in the interests of consumers. Therefore, we import mostly fruits and nuts from overseas (such as cranberries or raisins), which are only grown there in the corresponding quality and quantity. Where domestic alternatives are available (e.g. tomatoes, apples, sea buckthorn), we use European producers accordingly.

In 2021, we will start to determine the C02 footprint for key products in order to intensify the necessary measures to reduce greenhouse gas emissions together with our partners with the aim of being able to offer climate-neutral raw materials in the future.

Sustainable products

Under the motto “All from the fruit”, the producers of our raw materials are increasingly striving to process the harvested fruits and nuts as completely as possible as edible foodstuffs and to avoid unnecessary waste (upcycling). Current examples in our portfolio are the seeds of the cranberry as well as the cacaofruit, i.e. the pulp that contains the cacao beans and was used as compost in the past.

Sustainable packaging

The massive reduction of packaging waste is already one of the top sustainability goals of food production and trade. At the same time, our customers are working hard to develop packaging solutions that are 100% recyclable. We support and promote this endeavor with corresponding proposals and product concept ideas (“Design for Recycling”) as part of our development work.

Contact

Nachhaltige und
gesunde Produkte

Die Früchte und Nüsse, die wir handeln, sind von Natur aus gesund und nährstoffreich. Zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Studien belegen dies eindeutig und empfehlen ihren regelmäßigen Konsum als Teil einer gesunden und ausgewogenen Ernährung.

Gemeinsam mit unseren produzierenden Partnern machen wir diese Gesundheitsvorteile transparent.

Neben dem nachhaltigen Anbau- und Verarbeitung achten wir deshalb in unserer Co-Produktentwicklungsarbeit besonders darauf, dass diese natürlichen Rohstoffe Bestandteil von ausgewogenen Rezepturen sind. Der Fokus unserer aktuellen R&D-Arbeit liegt deshalb auf:

  • Nährstoffreicher Ernährung
  • Der deutlichen Reduktion von Salz und Fett
  • Der Ersatz künstlicher Aromen und Färbemittel durch natürliche Alternativen
  • Die Vereinfachung von Zutatenlisten (clean label)

Unsere Lieferanten sind unsere Partner

Bereits in den fünfziger Jahren hat sich Bösch Boden Spies von einem traditionellen Trader und Broker von Rohwaren diverser Produzenten zu einer Import-Agentur transformiert, die ihre Qualitätsproduzenten aus Übersee exklusiv in Europa repräsentiert. Deshalb pflegen wir zu unseren Lieferanten oft seit vielen Jahrzehnten ein enges, von Vertrauen geprägtes partnerschaftliches Verhältnis. Die Mehrheit dieser Lieferanten sind Kooperativen, d.h. der Zusammenschluss mehrerer Farmer zu einem gemeinsamen Anbieter oder Familienunternehmen, die enge persönliche Beziehungen zu ihren Farmern pflegen. Für unsere Kunden hat diese Aufgabenteilung den Vorteil, dass sie in der Regel von den weltmarktführenden Produzenten kaufen, die gleichzeitig die Qualitätsstandards in ihren Bereichen setzen, sich aber nicht um jedes Detail der Abwicklung und Kontrolle persönlich kümmern müssen, weil Bösch Boden Spies dies gebündelt für alle 1000+ Kunden tut.

Bio und Fair-Trade

Bösch Boden Spies ist bereits seit über 15 Jahren Bio-zertifiziert und handelt seitdem mit Rohstoffen aus biologischen Anbau. Mit aktuell 28 Artikeln ist Bio heute bereits ein relevanter Teil unseres Gesamtgeschäfts. Der Ausbau unseres Bio-Geschäfts ist deshalb ein integraler Bestandteil unserer Wachstumsstrategie 2025+.

Zudem sind wir seit 2020 auch Fair-Trade zertifiziert.

Regionale Produkte

Neben hohen Qualitätsstandards bei Anbau und Verarbeitung berücksichtigen wir im Sinne der Konsumenten verstärkt die Klima- und Energiebilanz der einzelnen Rohwaren. Deshalb importieren wir mehrheitlich Früchte und Nüsse aus Übersee (wie z.B. Cranberries oder Rosinen), die nur dort in der entsprechenden Qualität und Menge angebaut werden. Wo es heimische Alternativen gibt (z.B. Tomaten, Äpfel, Sanddorn) greifen wir entsprechend auf europäische Produzenten zurück.

In 2021 werden wir damit beginnen, für Schlüsselprodukte den C02-Footprint zu ermitteln, um gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern die notwendigen Maßnahmen zur Reduktion von Treibhausgasemissionen zu intensivieren mit dem Ziel, perspektivisch auch klimaneutrale Rohwaren anbieten zu können.

Nachhaltige Produkte

Unter dem Motto „All from the fruit“ sind die Produzenten unserer Rohwaren verstärkt darum bemüht, die geernteten Früchte und Nüssen möglichst vollständig als verzehrfähige Lebensmittel zu verarbeiten und unnötigen Abfall zu vermeiden (Upcycling). Aktuelle Beispiele in unserem Portfolio sind die Saaten der Cranberry sowie die Kakaofrucht, d.h. das Fruchtfleisch, dass die Kakaobohnen enthält und in der Vergangenheit als Kompost verwendet wurde.

Nachhaltige Verpackung

Die massive Reduktion von anfallendem Verpackungsmüll ist heute bereits eines der Top-Nachhaltigkeitsziele von Lebensmittelproduktion und –Handel. Gleichzeitig wird mit Hochdruck von unseren Kunden*innen an Verpackungslösungen gearbeitet, die zu 100% recyclingfähig sind. Wir unterstützen und befördern dieses Bestreben mit entsprechenden Vorschlägen und Produktkonzept-Ideen („Design for Recycling“) im Rahmen unserer Entwicklungsarbeit.

Ansprechpartner