Sea Buckthorn

One fruit, 190 beneficial nutrient

Sea Buckthorn

The original home of the sea buckthorn probably lies in Nepal. Ice age shifts led to its spread over almost all of Eurasia – from the Pyrenees to Norway, Siberia and China. It is considered to be less demanding and prefers to colonise calcareous sandy and gravel soils from the plain to 5000 metres above sea level in the Asian mountains.

The small, orange fruits grow on deciduous shrubs one to six metres high. The fruit has been appreciated as a remedy since ancient times. Antioxidants, amino acids, minerals and vitamins C, B6, B12, D and E, folic acid and omega fatty acids 7 and 9 make sea buckthorn a genuine superfood.

The vitamin C content even exceeds that of oranges and lemons. The small berry also contains vitamin B12, which is otherwise found almost exclusively in animal products. Like most vitamins, vitamin C and B12 are sensitive to heat during the drying process. Our partner Hippocrates Farm has developed a solution for this problem: Osmotic drying.

This is a low temperature drying process that preserves the original structure, vitamins, taste, colour and all components of the sea buckthorn fruit. In addition, Hippocrates Farm sea buckthorn is BIO certified, free of additives and preservatives and sweetened exclusively with apple juice concentrate.

It is currently being grown in Romania. Since a sea buckthorn bush takes 4 years to produce full yield, Hippocrates Farm will be able to offer harvesting of its fields in Greece in the near future.

Origin

  • Romania

Qualities

Dried

Partner

  • Hippocrates Farm

    Hippocrates Farm is the agricultural business unit of Rezos Brands S.A., a Greek company founded in 1983 that implements the vertical business model...

    Read more

Contact

Sanddorn

Eine Frucht, 190 wertvolle Inhaltsstoffe

Sanddorn

Die ursprüngliche Heimat des Sanddorns liegt vermutlich in Nepal. Eiszeitliche Verschiebungen führten zu seiner Verbreitung über fast ganz Eurasien – von den Pyrenäen bis nach Norwegen, Sibirien und China. Er gilt als wenig anspruchsvoll und besiedelt mit Vorliebe kalkhaltige Sand- und Kiesböden von der Ebene bis in 5000 Meter Höhe im asiatischen Gebirge.

Die kleinen, orangenen Früchte wachsen an sommergrünen, ein bis sechs Meter hohen Sträuchern. Bereits seit der Antike wird die Frucht als Heilmittel geschätzt. Antioxidantien, Aminosäuren, Mineralstoffe, die Vitamine C, B6, B12, D und E und die Omega-Fettsäuren 7 und 9 machen Sanddorn zu einem echten Superfood.

Der Vitamin C-Gehalt übersteigt sogar den von Orangen und Zitronen. Auch das ansonsten nahezu ausschließlich in tierischen Produkten vorkommende Vitamin B12 ist in der kleinen Beere enthalten. Wie die meisten sind auch Vitamin C und B12 empfindlich gegenüber der Hitzeeinwirkung während des Trocknungsprozesses. Unser Partner Hippocrates Farm hat eine Lösung für dieses Problem entwickelt:

Die osmotische Trocknung. Dabei handelt es sich um einen Trocknungsvorgang bei niedrigen Temperaturen, bei dem die ursprüngliche Struktur, Vitamine, Geschmack, Farbe und alle Bestandteile der Sanddornfrucht erhalten bleiben. Darüber hinaus ist Sanddorn von Hippocrates Farm BIO-zertifiziert, frei von Zusatzstoffen und Konservierungsmitteln und wird ausschließlich mit Apfelsaftkonzentrat gesüßt.

Er wird derzeit in Rumänien angebaut. Da ein Sanddorn-Strauch 4 Jahre braucht, bis er den vollen Ertrag bringt, wird Hippocrates Farm erst perspektivisch Ernten seiner Felder in Griechenland anbieten können.

Herkunft

  • Rumänien

Qualitäten

Getrocknet

Partner

Ansprechpartner

Our B2B Online Shop